You can manage a project's settings by selecting Settings from the Actions (“ ”) drop-down menu located to the right of the project name.
The Project Settings page is thoughtfully grouped into categories that make it easy to find the specific project details you're looking for; some sections (e.g. Approvals) may only appear under certain conditions.
The Project Settings page consists of the following sections:
- Project Colors (if enabled)
The General section is where you can input your project name, client and provider names, start and due dates, as well as a project description. You can also change the project color, choose to include archived projects in the project percentage complete, and include non-billable time on this project's invoices.
How to Change Project Dates
Adjusting a project's Start and End Date is a typically straightforward process. However, there may be some instances where the End Date is grayed out in the Project Settings.
When this happens, it means that changes to the schedule must be approved by a client with Project Financials permissions (or higher). If there are no clients with the appropriate permissions, a Project Administrator on the Provider-side of the project can approve schedule changes.
You can propose new dates for client approval in the Schedule tab of the Project Admin box found on the right-hand side of a project's Activity feed. This way, there's a record of who requested the change and the client who approved it.
Note: You must have a Client or a Project Administrator on the Provider-side of the project for this functionality to work.
Use the Project Color drop-down menu to change the color of the current project. This section only appears if Project Colors are enabled in General Settings.
Just below the Project Color section are two toggle switches:
- Include archived tasks in percentage complete—This setting determines whether archived tasks are included in the overall project completion percentage shown as % Done in the Project List page and Global Gantt chart.
- Include non-billable time on invoices—This setting determines whether invoices for the current project can include non-billable time entries. Note that the default state for this setting is configured in Mavenlink's Invoice Settings. This setting can be turned off or on at any time, but will only affect current or future invoices; previously-generated invoices remain unchanged.
If the setting is turned on when you create or edit an invoice, you can select both billable and non-billable time entries. If the setting is turned off when you create or edit an invoice, non-billable time entries will not appear in the Time Entries table on the Invoices page.
Note: This setting similarly affects invoicing with the QuickBooks integration.
The Privacy section allows you to determine who can access the project, as well as set a default post setting. You can make a project open to all Account Members, open to Account Administrators Only, or Private (meaning you must be invited to the project to join). With the communication setting, you can set whether posts are private or public by default. Public posts are accessible by everyone in the project, including people on the client team.
Members with Project Lead account permissions (or higher) can enable a project's budget by selecting Enable financial features in the Financials section. This allows you to set the project’s budget, currency type, and include expenses in your project’s burn rate.
You’ll also find some useful presets in the Financials section, such as defaulting your tasks to be Time & Materials or Fixed Fee, as well as defaulting a task to be billable or non-billable. The billable/non-billable default is particularly useful if you’re tracking an internal project where you still want to keep track of your employee’s costs.
If Rate Cards are enabled, you can select the appropriate Rate Card for the Project. By default, the Account Rate Card is automatically applied.
We've also incorporated bright green/gray switches to indicate which time, expense, and change order approval settings you have enabled. Selecting Time entries must be approved before invoicing will cause the Approvals section to appear (see below).
You can click Edit invoicing preferences to access additional invoice settings such as Project Code, Purchase Code, Client Invoice Name, and more.
You are unable to change the project's Currency if any invoices, time entries, expenses, or budgeted tasks recorded on the project.
The Approvals section allows you to designate up to 25 users to approve time for a project. Having more than one person responsible for time approvals guarantees that your workflow won’t grind to a halt if a designated approver is out sick or on vacation. Keep in mind that these users must have permission levels of Report Viewer or higher; or have project permission levels of Project Financials or higher.
Note: If you don't see the Approvals section, make sure that the Time entries must be approved before invoicing setting is enabled in the Financials section (see above); once this setting is enabled, it can only be disabled if there are no active submissions or approvals.
Rates & Roles
In this section, you can view and adjust the rates and roles for each team member. This section is useful for adding roles to a team member when they play more than one role on a project. You can also override the default bill and cost rate for each member for a specific project. Note: You must have Financials enabled on the project to access the Rates & Roles settings.
If Rate Cards are enabled, you will only see Roles associated with the Rate Card on the Project.
For more information on multi-role resourcing on projects, click here.
QuickBooks (if enabled)
Once synced, a Project Administrator can map customers, jobs, products, and services in QuickBooks to projects and tasks in Mavenlink. All of Mavenlink’s financial features, including this integration, are available to our Premier customers. Learn how to integrate your account in our QuickBooks Integration article.
QuickBooks Customer and Job (for Billing Purposes)
Indicate which QuickBooks customer and job this project is for.
QuickBooks Task Configuration
From a time-tracking perspective, Mavenlink maps to QuickBooks Desktop via task item and to QuickBooks Online via product/service. Therefore, in order for Mavenlink account members to send time entries to QuickBooks, use the QuickBooks Product/Service drop-down menus to select the appropriate products/services from QuickBooks and map them to Mavenlink task tracker items. Depending on how your QuickBooks is set up, these can be high-level (e.g., Advertising) or more granular (e.g., Cardstock).
QuickBooks Default Project Mappings
Use the drop-down menus to set your default QuickBooks products/services mappings for fixed fees, time activities, or additional items. Leaving one of these mappings blank at the project-level forces Mavenlink to rely on the task-level mapping; if that is also blank, Mavenlink will then look at the account-level equivalent of these defaults configured in the Map Account Settings tab in Settings > QuickBooks > Set Up.
This section is where Project Administrators can set a permission level for project participants. You can also access this section from the Project Admin box by clicking on the Project Permissions button.
Note: A project must always have a team lead.
This section is where you can set values for those custom fields you originally set up on the account level. Learn more in the Custom Fields article.
Additional Setting Selections
- Save Activity Feed as PDF—This exports a PDF of the project's activity feed and delivers it by email.
- Archive Project—As a Project Creator, you can archive a project when work is complete, which will remove it from your list of active projects. You can always access your archived projects from the Project List. Archived Projects can be unarchived from this dropdown, too.
- Transfer Ownership—If you’re the project owner you can transfer ownership of your project to another account. Note: This action cannot be reversed! Only the new owner of the project will have the ability to return ownership back to you.
- Leave Project—When you no longer need to participate in a project, click on “leave project.” After you’ve left a project, you’ll no longer receive email notifications from that project.