Back to Mavenlink.com Blog Tour Status

Time Billable Status Restricted to Task Default

Overview

Using the Time Billable Status Restricted to Task Default facilitated setting does two
things:

  1. Allows only an Account Administrator to change the billable status of a task from the
    Task Details side panel.
  2. Prevents non-administrative users from changing the billable status when logging time to
    a Task.

This setting can be used with the Time Trackable Tasks facilitated setting.

Time & Expense Settings

The behavior of this facilitated setting depends on how clients have configured the Track Time
& Expense Against section of the Time & Expense Settings. These settings allow an
Account Administrator to choose what types of tasks (Task, Deliverable, Milestone, Issue)
are permitted to have time tracked against them.Time_and_expense_settings.png

Note that while you can choose not to select Require Time Entries to be Tracked Against a
Task Type, doing so means that users will be able to change the billable status when logging
time to a project instead of a task. Any time logged to a task of any type, however, is still
restricted to the task setting in Project Settings.

Task Details Side Panel

Once the facilitated setting is enabled, only an Account Administrator can check or uncheck
the Billable box for each task from the Task Details side panel. Time_and_expense_side_panel.png

If you have the right permissions, you can still set the Task Default in Project Settings to
Billable.

For non-administrative users, the Billable checkbox is visible but cannot be changed.time_and_fees_billable.png

With that setting enabled, when a user goes to Time Entries > Time & Expense to enter time
against a Project and Task, the Task reflects the billable status.

time_entries.png

Created on