Back to Mavenlink.com Blog Tour Status

Access Groups

 

Overview

The main Access Groups page is where you can create new, edit existing, or delete unneeded access groups. There are several default access groups that you can choose from initially, each designed with particular user roles in mind. These access groups contain sets of preconfigured permissions that provide immediate and appropriate access to the members who are assigned.Main-Access-Groups-Page-2.png

To create and name a new custom access group and add it to the main Access Groups table, click the Create Access Group button at the top of the Access Groups page. Create-Access_Group-Button.pngOnce you have provided a name, you will be taken to the new group’s details page where you can change the access group name, description, member list, and configure access privileges using different permission sets (e.g., Resource Management). For more information on creating a new access group, see the Creating a New Access Group article.

Access Groups Table

The Access Groups table contains all of the default and custom groups currently configured for your account—including the descriptions and members, if any, associated with each one.

The Account Default access groups always appear at the top of the table; these mirror Mavenlink's standard Account Permissions. They are easy to recognize because they have an Account Default tag next to their name and have a shaded background. Members can only be assigned to the Account Default access groups from the Member Details side panel.Account-Default-Tag-3.png

Any custom access groups that you create will appear after the Account Defaults in the table.

  • Access Groups—Click the name of an access group in this column to configure the group details; edit the name, description, permissions, and add or remove members. For more information on managing individual access groups, see the Access Groups Details article.
    Please note that you are not able to:
    • Edit any part of the Account Administrators access group.
    • Edit the name or description of an Account Default access group.
    • Add or remove members from one of the Account Default access groups; this must be done from the Member Details side panel.
  • Members—This column contains profile pictures of the first 10 members added to this access group. If more than 10 members are assigned, the last box shows the number of additional members belonging to that group. Hovering over a member’s profile picture will show you the name of the member.Member-Box.png

Actions Menu 

The Actions (“   ”) menu located to the right of a group's name and description contains a list of options for updating or removing an access group.

  • Edit Access Group—This performs the same action as clicking on an access group name. You'll be taken to the access group details page where you can edit the group name, description, permissions, and add or remove members. You are not allowed to edit the default Account Administrators access group. For more information on managing individual access groups, see the Access Groups Details article.
  • Delete Access Group—This removes all members that belong to this group (as well as the access they were assigned as part of the group) and then deletes the group. You are not allowed to delete any of the Account Default access groups.

Edit-Access-Group-3.png

Account Default Access Groups

To add or remove account members from the default access groups, you must change the member’s permissions in Settings > Members.

  • Account Administrators—This non-editable group includes every Account Administrator on your account and has unrestricted access to Mavenlink. 
  • Reports Viewers With Cost—By default, this access group allows users to create estimates, edit cost rates, access Master Planning, administer financial projects, see user billing rates, create projects, track time and expenses, and collaborate on projects.
  • Reports Viewer—By default, this access group allows users to view Analytics reports, access Master Planning, administer financial projects, see user billing rates, create projects, track time and expenses, and collaborate on projects.
  • Project Lead—By default, this access group allows users to administer financial projects, see user billing rates, create projects, track time and expenses, and collaborate on projects.
  • Project Creator—By default, this access group allows users to create projects, track time and expenses, and collaborate on projects.
  • Collaborator—By default, this access group allows users to track time and expenses and collaborate on projects.
  • Punch Clock—By default, this access group allows users to clock in and out and collaborate on projects.

Custom Access Groups

  • View Only Master Planning—This default group starts empty. Members added to this group have view-only access to resource allocations in Master Planning.
  • View My Allocations—This default group starts empty. Members added to this group only have visibility into their own resource allocations in Master Planning.
  • Resource Requesters—This default group starts empty. Members added to this group can only view their projects in Master Planning, make allocations for unnamed resources, and submit resource requests (if enabled).

Related Articles

Created on