Project Settings has a new look that makes the interface more intuitive and easy to navigate. We can't wait for you to try it out!
What has Changed?
The first thing project administrators will notice is that we have moved the placement of the settings gear so it is easy to access on a small screen. The project settings gear is located next to the project title. When you click on the gear icon, a dropdown menu will show up; this is where you can access your project's settings. In the dropdown, you will see Settings, Rates & Roles, Permissions, Custom Fields, and if you have QuickBooks enabled, you will see that section here as well. Before this update, project settings were accessible from a tab interface.
With this change, settings are more thoughtfully organized and have dedicated sections, making it easier to find what you’re looking for.
We've broken up the various settings (General, Privacy, and Financials) and grouped them into categories to make it easier to find what you are looking for. View the improved interface in the image below.
The General section is where you can input your project name, client and provider names, start and due dates, as well as a project description.
The Privacy section allows you to determine who can access the project, as well as set a default post setting. You can make a project open to all Account Members, open to Account Administrators Only, or Private (meaning you must be invited to the project to join). With the communication setting, you can set whether posts are private or public by default. Public posts are accessible by everyone in the project, including people on the client team.
The Financials section allows you to set the project’s budget, currency type, and include expenses in your project’s burn rate. You’ll also find some useful presets in the Financials section, such as defaulting your tasks to be Time and Materials or Fixed Fee, as well as defaulting a task to be billable or non-billable. The billable/non-billable default is particularly useful if you’re tracking an internal project where you still want to keep track of your employee’s costs.
We've also incorporated bright green/gray switches to indicate which time, expense, and change order approval settings you have enabled. You can click Invoicing Preferences to access invoice settings such as Project Code, Purchase Code, Client Invoice Name, and more.
Additional Settings Pages
Rates & Roles: In this section, you can override project members’ rates and roles. You’ll find this section useful if you want to set a bill rate or role for a project participant that’s specific to this project (instead of using the Account Bill Rate or Role). Note: You must have financials turned on for the project to have Rates & Roles settings.
Permissions: This section is where Project Admins can set a permission level for project participants. You can also access this section from the Projects Admin Module by clicking on the Team Permissions button. Note: A project must always have a team lead.
Custom Fields: This section is where you can set values for those custom fields you originally set up on the account level. Learn more in the Custom Fields article.
QuickBooks [for those who have it enabled]: Once synced, Project Admins can map customers, jobs, products, and services in QuickBooks to projects and tasks in Mavenlink. All of Mavenlink’s financial features, including this integration, are available to our Premier customers. Learn more about how to integrate your account with QuickBooks here in our QuickBooks Integration article.
Export Project To export a pdf of your project’s activity feed, use the export button.
Archive Project: As a Project Creator, you can archive a project when work is complete, which will remove it from your list of active projects. You can always access your archived projects from the Project List. Archived Projects can be unarchived from this dropdown, too.
Transfer Ownership: If you’re the project owner you can transfer ownership of your project to another account. Note: This action cannot be reversed! Only the new owner of the project will have the ability to return ownership back to you.
Leave Project: When you no longer need to participate in a project, click on “leave project.” After you’ve left a project, you’ll no longer receive email notifications from that project.