Back to Mavenlink.com Blog Tour Status

Override Team Member Rates for a Project

Enterprise | Premier | Professional ]

Overview 

Although the default rates for all new projects are set on the Account Members page, there may be instances where you want to change the cost rate for one project, but not necessarily any future projects.

Rate and role overrides affect both Insights and Margin cost reports; rate differences are reflected based on the selected project.

Step-by-Step

How to Override the Cost Rate for a Member on a Project

To override the default cost rate for members participating on a project:

  1. After the project is created, select Rates & Roles from the Actions (“   ”) drop-down menu located to the right of the project name.Rates-Roles.png
  2. By default, the values displayed in the Cost Rate column of the Rates & Roles page reflect the member's currency cost rate—but only if they have one that matches the project's Currency type. The cost rate and currency for each member is defined in your Account Members settings.
    • If the member already has a cost rate override set for this project, that rate will be shown.
    • If no override is set, the member's cost rate will be shown if it matches the project's Currency type.
    • If the member doesn't have a cost rate for that currency, it will be blank, indicating that the user has No Rate. MR-Cost-Rate-Bill-Rate.png
  3. To override the team member's cost rate for this project, click in the corresponding Cost Rate cell of the Rates & Roles table and provide the new value.MR-Cost-Rate-Change.png
  4. When you override the Cost Rate of a team member, an asterisk (“ * ”) will appear next to the new cost rate. Hovering over the asterisk allows you to see what the original Account Cost Rate was before it was overridden for the project. MR-Cost-Rate-Override-Asterisk.png
  5. Regardless if you specify a new cost rate or leave it blank, the member will maintain the overridden cost rate for the entirety of the project, no matter what changes are made to their Cost Rate table in the Financial tab.
  6. To remove the override, clear the entire value (including the currency symbol) from the corresponding Cost Rate cell.
  7. Your changes will be automatically saved; you can now return to the main project or close the window. 

 

Step-by-Step

How to Override the Bill Rate for a Member on a Project

Although there are some exceptions, the procedure to override a team member's default bill rate is nearly identical to that of overriding a member's cost rate (described above).

  1. Select Rates & Roles from the Actions (“   ”) drop-down menu located to the right of the project name.Rates-Roles.png
  2. Here you will see the Rates & Roles table listing each team member and their bill rate. By default, the Bill Rate for each member will match the rate defined in your Account Members settings.MR-Cost-Rate-Bill-Rate.png
  3. To override the team member's bill rate for this project, click in the corresponding Bill Rate cell of the Rates & Roles table and provide the new value.MR-Bill-Rate-Override.png
    Note: A team member's Bill Rate can only be overridden if your account has not been Rate Card-enabled.
  4. When you override the Bill Rate of a team member, an asterisk (“ * ”) will appear next to the new cost rate. Hovering over the asterisk allows you to see what the original Account Bill Rate was before it was overridden for the project.MR-Bill-Rate-Change.png
  5. To remove the override, clear the entire value (including the currency symbol) from the corresponding Bill Rate cell.
  6. After overriding a Bill Rate, you have the option to update the member's Bill Rate for all scheduled hours.MR-Bill-Rate-Updated.png
  7. Your changes will be automatically saved; you can now return to the main project or close the window.

 

Related articles:

Created on

Can't find what you're looking for?

Live Chat Submit a Ticket